The Powell Consortium is an alliance of eight Water Resources Research Institutes and Centers from the states of Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming formed to work on water resources problems of the Colorado River/Great Basin region. The Consortium is named in recognition of John Wesley Powell (1834-1902), geologist, teacher, and philosopher whose pioneering explorations of the Colorado River Basin became legendary.

The Consortium utilizes the collective expertise of its member universities and over twenty other cooperating universities to develop and disseminate knowledge to solve problems of the Colorado/Great Basin Region and other arid regions of the world. As inspired by Powell, the Consortium seeks to improve the technical and scientific basis for decision making on water and environmental issues through honest investigation and the application of common sense to problem solving.

Member Institutes:

Last updated August 3, 2007

Back to the NMWRRI Homepage.